The Night We Met

Dear,

My old lover,

It’s 1:30 am, past midnight.

Awake because of the coffee i had with you, after running under the rain..

in an old Starbucks on P St NW, Washington DC, the only opened coffee shop..

Or maybe because of my heart beats, for you have the sweetest presence that pushes me to the top..

Excuse my fast pace, but i have spent my entire life rushing and running, away from pain..

For I didn’t have you, to hold my shaky, cold hands and whisper to me, “We made it. We will never give up!”

I have tried to hide my fear, tremor and anxiety, but with you, everything becomes real..

And as much as we physically have for life, i’ll be the woman you always wanted to be.

For you’re the roses in my dry field.

Sincerely,

Your Young Woman

Leave a Reply

