Inside Me

My body is not my own …
My hair is a crown that should be covered from the peering eyes of peasants for I am queen…
My ankles are a sign of fertility only the man who intends on marrying me can see…
My hips and curves are hills and mountains of hidden pleasures and sin…
I am judged on the outer layers and not on what lies within …
My body is not my own …
My mother says it’s a home for her grandchildren who remain unborn…
My father says I am the pride and honor to protect he has sworn…
Aunties snigger at my coyness and say wait until your blossom unfolds…
The treasure between my legs is more valuable than gold …
My body is not my own …
A prisoner to the values society put in place …
Experiencing the unwanted touch of a stranger at a young age …
Burdened with the guilt and silenced by the shame …
It’s sickening how easily the victim is blamed …
Shrouded in black I morn the carcass that holds my soul …
My body is not my own …

Leave a Reply

